Peace and Conflict Resolution Month, From DG Marie Baker
The Rotary theme for February is Peace and Conflict Resolution.  Rotary has a history of promoting peace and peacebuilding around the world. 
 
Rotarians from Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, proposed before the 1914 Rotary Convention that the International Association of Rotary Clubs (now Rotary International) “lend its influence to the maintenance of peace among the nations of the world.” Delegates at the convention, which took place just weeks before Europe became engulfed in war, agreed. 
 
Rotary has continued to be at the forefront of advocating for peace and International Understanding. To find out more about our history, click here.
 
Our Rotary Vision, “ Together, we see a world where people unite and take actions to create lasting change across the globe, in our communities, and in ourselves.” is our call to action for Peace. Carrying out our various service projects in our seven areas of focus, our members are addressing the underlying causes of conflict, including poverty, discrimination, ethnic tension, disease, and the lack of access to education and water.
 
The Rotary Action Group for Peace is an incredible resource to learn more about making peace possible. There are excellent resources and educational materials that can assist each of us on the peacebuilding journey. Take a moment or two to explore a free online training course at the Rotary Positive Peace Academy.
 
Rotarians are leaders, and we can Create Hope in the World!
 
Save the Date:  April 26th - 28th, 2024 – Rotary District 5400 Conference, Riverside Hotel, Boise, Idaho. Registration is coming soon!

Rotary Tabletop Marketing Kit

Did you know that D5400 has tools to help your club promote Rotary and recruit members at networking events?

  1. List of Rotary clubs in an acrylic stand. Treasure Valley version and district-wide versions you can edit here.
  2. Retractable banner.
  3. Misc supplies you’ll appreciate.
  4. Forms to gather leads for follow-up. Or create a Google Form like this one.
  5. Flyers and brochures. Create your own club brochure here.
  6. Rotary magazine back-issues. Cover your address with this Avery 5821 label.
  7. Lanyards for a name tag or to hold your business cards.
  8. Two ‘Ask Me About Rotary’ buttons.
  9. Blank invitation cards to bring a guest to a club meeting.
  10. An example of a customized invitation card. A Canva template is here.
  11. Tablecloth to fit an 8’ table
  12. Candy dish.

To have this kit shipped to you, just send an email to the Public Image Chair at publicimage@rotary5400.org.

 

More District Updates
Youth Eco Film Contest on Climate Solutions Sponsored by Rotary District 5400
Calling all southern Idaho filmmakers! Students between the ages of 14 to19 are encouraged to create and submit a three to four-minute video highlighting a climate solution in Idaho. The contest winners will be recognized at a screening event and will receive cash prizes.
Read more...
Idaho Rotarians Head to Peru for Humanitarian Projects

A team of 19 Idaho Rotarians from District 5400 is set to travel to Peru this February to participate in various humanitarian projects, including forestation, support for a children's benefit concert, assistance for a cancer center, and donations to local hospitals and schools.

 

Read more...
Join Rotary: Live Longer & Be Happier!

Interestingly our soon to be RI President Stephanie often addresses her remarks to “My Rotary Family.” The concept of embracing our fellow Rotarians as family members could have a surprisingly far-reaching effect.
 

Read more...
Wed 7 Feb: Rotary at the U.N. COP 28 Negotiations
Rotary at COP 28
Wednesday 7 February, 14:00 UTC, 19:30 IST, 17:00 Istanbul & Nairobi, 15:00 Munich & Lago, 11:00 am Sao Paulo, 9:00 am New York & Bogota, 8:00 am Chicago & Mexico City, 6:00 am Los Angeles
Read more...
Global Polio Eradication Initiative – GPEI
 
In 1988, the World Health Assembly adopted a resolution for the worldwide eradication of polio, marking the launch of the Global Polio Eradication Initiative (GPEI) a public-private partnership led by national governments with six partners – the World Health Organization (WHO), Rotary International, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF), Bill & Melinda Gates and Gavi, the Vaccine Alliance.
Read more...
Polio Eradication: A Review by the Global Polio Eradication Initiative of 2023 and Outlook for 2024
 
The Global Polio Eradication Initiative (GPEI) has two goals laid out in its current strategy: to interrupt all remaining transmission of endemic wild poliovirus type 1 (WPV1) and to stop all outbreaks of variant poliovirus type 2 (cVDPV2). 2023 was a critical year for progressing on each of these, and while our urgent and diligent work to end polio must continue into 2024, the GPEI achieved incredible things in the past twelve months.
Read more...
Turnkey Marketing Campaign Workshop
February 8, 2024 5:30 - 6:30 pm Pacific (Zoom)
 
Creating a Turnkey Marketing Campaign can significantly help clubs and districts achieve more successful outcomes in membership, fundraising, and outreach. You are invited to a free virtual workshop facilitated by Dan Ouweleen, District 5320 IPDG, and Shawn Wehan, CEO of Givsum and Marketing Director for D5320, who successfully created and implemented such a campaign last year. They will describe their efforts and how you can replicate their success. Register here.
The 5400 Environmental Stewardship Action Team is pleased to announce the launch of our Eco Film Contest about climate solutions. First place prize is $1000, second place is $750, third place receives $500. There will be two runners up at $200 each. Please let your local highschool and highschool students know We would love to get several entries from across Idaho. Students must register at tinyurl.com/EcoFilmContest before the February 29 deadline.
Upcoming Events
AG meeting
Jun. 13, 2024 5:00 p.m.
 
View entire list
Rotary News
 
 
 
 
 
Please add mailservice@clubrunner.ca to your safe sender list or address book.
To view our privacy policy, click here.
 
ClubRunner
102-2060 Winston Park Drive, Oakville, ON, L6H 5R7